Level 4, 10 Moore St, Canberra ACT 2601
+61 2 5123 6700

Go8-CSC “Study in China” Event and Policy Forum in April 2015

The CSC-Go8 group photo

The China Scholarship Council (CSC) Secretary-General Dr Liu Jinghui and Deputy Secretary-General Mr Wang Shenggang led a high-level delegation to visit the Group of Eight in Australia on 13-16 April 2015. The CSC delegation also consisted of 16 Chinese leading universities, including 10 Vice Presidents.

The delegates first visited The University of Queensland (UQ) on 13-14 April, and participated in the UQ Global Experiences Expo to promote “study in China” opportunities and scholarship programs for Australian students at all levels.

Photo – CSC delagates at “Study in China” Event during the UQ Global Experiences Expo on 14 April 2015

Photo – UQ Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Monique Skidmore and CSC Deputy Secretary-General Wang Shenggang

Photo – CSC visit to UQ

The Chinese delegation then travelled to Perth where CSC Secretary-General Dr Liu Jinghui and Go8 Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul Johnson signed a Go8-CSC MoU on 15 April. (For more information about the Agreement, click here(link is external))

On 16 April, the Go8 and CSC held a strategic policy Forum on Australia’s New Colombo Plan and international student management at the UWA campus. The participants included Go8 and Chinese university executives as well as Australian and Chinese Government representatives. This succesful Forum offered a trusted platform for Australia and China to share ideas and experiences on international education policy and practice.

The Forum included the following speakers:

Keynote speeches by:

• ACC– Mr Frank Tudor, Board Member, the Australia-China Council (ACC), the Australian Government
• Go8 – Ms Vicki Thomson, Chief Executive, Group of Eight
• CSC – Dr Liu Jinghui, Secretary General, China Scholarship Council

Topic 1: New Colombo Plan


  • Ms Vicki Thomson, Chief Executive, Group of Eight, and Member of the New Colombo Plan Reference Group and the Australia China Council Board
  • Prof. Yuepu PU, Vice President, Southeast University

Special speaker

  • Kate Duff, Assistant Secretary, Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (New Colombo Plan Secretariat)


  • Xinli GUO, Vice President, Shanghai Jiaotong University
  • Professor Qingming LUO, Vice President,  Huazhong University of Science & Technology
  • Professor Krishna Sen, Dean of the Faculty of Arts, The University of Western Australia
  • Professor Naijia GUAN, Vice President, Nankai University
  • Professor Yuepu PU, Vice President, Southeast University
  • Professor Fiona Docherty, Pro-Vice Chancellor (International), UNSW
  • Professor Guiling NING, Vice President, Dalian University of Technology
  • Professor Yi PAN, Vice President, Nanjing University
Topic 2: International Student Services and Management


  • Professor Susan Elliott, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor Qingming LUO, Vice President, Huazhong University of Science & Technology


  • Iain Watt, Pro Vice-Chancellor (International), UWA
  • Professor Minghai WEI, Vice President, Sun Yat-Sen University
  • Trevor Goddard, Associate Director, Global Program, Monash University
  • Professor Ping JU, Vice President, Hohai University

Photo – Go8-CSC Policy Forum on New Colombo Plan and international student management



Note: The CSC delegation included the following members –

China Scholarship Council (CSC)
Peking University
Tsinghua Unversity
Nanjing University
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Renmin University of China
Nankai University
Tianjin University
Shandong University
Dalian University of Technology
Tongji University
East China Normal University
Hohai University
Southeast University
Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Sun Yat-sen University
Beijing Normal University

Related Posts