Level 4, 10 Moore St, Canberra ACT 2601
+61 2 5123 6700

Credit Transfer

Group of Eight (Go8) universities have a Credit Transfer Agreement in place, which enhances the mobility of students between Go8 member universities.


In recognition of the excellence of teaching and research that exists in Go8 universities, members agree to support the mobility of students between them by facilitating the transfer of credit earned at their institutions where possible.

The Agreement is based on recognition that the academic expectations and assessment regimes at all Go8 universities are comparable, however it is noted that a student’s completed units must be assessed against the corresponding units within the program to which they seek to transfer.


  1. Credit will be granted to students who are accepted for admission into a degree program at a Go8 university for appropriate units of study successfully completed while enrolled at another Go8 university where these are assessed as comparable to units in the corresponding program and taking into consideration the course structure.
  2. Credit transfer may be possible for students in all degree programs who have successfully completed a recognised component of study at a Go8 university.
  3. Students must meet all requirements of the degree program in which they enrol.
  4. Credit transfer for units of study successfully completed as part of a previously completed degree will be considered in accordance with the rules of the degree program into which the student is seeking admission.

For further  information about how the agreement is applied at each institution, visit the Go8 Universities below.