Level 4, 10 Moore St, Canberra ACT 2601
+61 2 5123 6700

The Go8 Team

Vicki Thomson - Chief Executive Officer

Vicki Thomson

Chief Executive & Director

Vicki Thomson has worked in Australia’s university sector for  more than two decades championing its role as integral to the success of our nation and its people. She is currently the Chief Executive of the Group of Eight Universities and prior to this role she was Executive Director of the Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN).

She has an extensive media, political and policy background and was Chief of Staff to a South Australian Premier. She is a Deputy Chair of the European Australian Business Council, a board member of Multiple Sclerosis Australia and a former Board member of the Australian Government’s Australia-China Council and the New Colombo Plan Advisory Group. She is also a member of the Australian Government’s University Foreign Interference Taskforce.

She has been awarded the prestigious Insignia of the Knights in the Ordre des Palmes Académiques by the French Government for her continuing services to the growth of successful education relationships and programs between France and Australia. She also has significant experience and relationships with China. From the mid-1990s when she was first involved through her Government positions, she assisted the management of trade, industry and energy negotiations over a number of years. She has extensive experience in building relationships between business, industry and universities, and supporting increased access to university for people from all backgrounds.

She has been named by the Australian Financial Review in the top five of its power list for Australia’s education sector on multiple occasions.

Vicki Thomson
Chief Executive & Director
Dr. Matthew Brown
Deputy Chief Executive
Tracey Wright
Chief Operating Officer & Company Secretary
Dr. Philip Chindamo
Chief Economist
Dr. Sally Nimon
Director, Policy
Paul Fede
Digital Content Producer
Callista Thillou
Senior Adviser, Global Engagement
Lachlan Murdoch
Data Analyst (Tue/Thu)
Cheryl Kut
Strategic Adviser, Research
Dr. Jane Liang
Research & International Strategy Adviser
Felicity Jones
Director Research Policy
Jen Eddy
Media Contact
+61 447 742 910
Di Ferguson
Executive Support
+61 2 5123 6700