Level 4, 10 Moore St, Canberra ACT 2601
+61 2 5123 6700

Go8 Media Release: Go8 scoops the pool at 2018 Eureka Awards

The Group of Eight (Go8) congratulates all winners at the 2018 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes held in Sydney last night and is proud to have captured the majority of the awards on offer.

Vicki Thomson, Chief Executive of the Go8, said that the research on display at the Eureka Awards was “truly inspiring” and clearly communicates the many ways in which research – from all universities – benefits the Australian community.

“The recently released economic impact analysis of the Go8 prepared by London Economics showed that the value of Go8 research in 2016 was $24.5 billion including over $23 billion in spill overs to the wider Australian economy. Through the Go8 Eureka Award winners we have a showcase of the human faces generating this impact with examples of award winners for revolutionary science, industry engagement, research leadership and mentoring, and collaborative research all to be found amongst the Go8 winners.”

Some of the Go8 research awarded last night included:

·         A fast, accurate and sensitive and automated method that can detect just one leukaemia cell in 10,000 normal cells that will contribute to personalised treatments for leukaemia by Professor Wendy Erber, Dr Kathy Fuller and Henry Hui at the University of Western Australia;

·         Adhesive surgical glue that quickly seals wounds without the need for staples by Professor Tony Weiss AM from the University Sydney; and

·         The Sapphire Clock developed by the University of Adelaide and Cryoclock Pty Ltd that offers the potential for a step change in the performance of the Jindalee Over-The-Horizon Radar Network.

The Go8 would also like to acknowledge the achievements of award winners in the categories of science communication and school education as fields critical to the future of science and research.

“Science and research will underpin Australia’s future and as Australia leading research-intensive universities the Go8 is committed to not only delivering world leading research but also to advocating strongly for the national value of investment in research”, said Ms Thomson

Contact:               Vicki Thomson, Group of Eight Chief Executive on +61 417 808 472

Group of Eight award winners at the 2018 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

Recipients Go8 institution Award
ANU Re100 team

·         Professor Andrew Blakers

·         Dr Matthew Stocks

·         Bin Lu

Australian National University – Research School of Engineering NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Eureka Prize for Environmental Research
Dr Mohsen Rahmani Australian National University – Nonlinear Physics Centre at the ANU Research School of Physics and Engineering Macquarie University Eureka Prize for Outstanding Early Career Researcher
Professor Wendy Erber

Dr Kathy Fuller

Henry Hui

University of Western Australia – Medical School ANSTO Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology
Professor Nalini Joshi AO University of Sydney – Faculty of Science University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers
Professor Thomas Maschmeyer University of Sydney – Faculty of Science CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation & Science
Professor Anthony Weiss AM University of Sydney – Faculty of Science Johnson and Johnson Eureka Prize for Innovation in Medical Research
Associate Professor Elizabeth New University of Sydney – Faculty of Science 3M Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science
Optical Physics in Neuroscience team

·         Associate Professor Ethan Scott

·         Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop

·         Dr Itia Favre-Bulle

University of Queensland – Faculty of Medicine – School of Biomedical Sciences; Faculty of Science – School of Mathematics and Physics UNSW Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research
The Sapphire Clock Team, with Cryoclock Pty Ltd

·         Led by Professor Andre Luiten

University of Adelaide – The Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing Defence Science and Technology Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia
Members of CF Air Team

·         Dr Luke Knibbs

·         Dr Tim Kidd

·         Professor Clare Wainwright

University of Queensland – School of Public Health; School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences

Faculty of Science; Faculty of Medicine

Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research


Related Posts