Go8 Board

The Go8 Board, which consists of the vice-chancellors (presidents) of its eight member universities, meets five times a year. The Chair of the Board rotates among member universities. The Chair of the Board is Professor Ian Jacobs, Vice-Chancellor, The University of New South Wales.



UNSW Sydney
Professor Ian Jacobs


Professor Ian Jacobs is a doctor, researcher, charity worker, business entrepreneur and academic leader with an interest in bringing together people from diverse backgrounds to have a positive impact on society.He has been President and Vice-Chancellor of UNSW Sydney since February 2015. Since taking up his post Professor Jacobs has led the development of an ambitious 'UNSW 2025 Strategy' combining academic excellence in research and education, with equal priorities in social engagement, equality, diversity, thought leadership, knowledge transfer and global impact.
The University of Western Australia
Professor Dawn Freshwater


Professor Dawn Freshwater became Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Australia in January 2017. She had served previously for three years as The University of Western Australia (UWA)’s Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor (SDVC) and Registrar, and as Acting Vice-Chancellor in late 2016.  In the role of SDVC, she led UWA through its most significant transformation in over two decades, with the aim of optimising UWA’s world class research, and further cultivating its exceptional educational outcomes and student experience.


The University of Queensland
Professor Peter Høj
Professor Peter Høj commenced as Vice Chancellor and President of The University of Queensland on 8 October 2012.    Prior to this appointment Professor Høj was Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of South Australia from 1 June 2007. Before that, he was Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Research Council (2004-2007) and Managing Director of the Australian Wine Research Institute (1997-2004).
The University of Sydney
Dr Michael Spence AC

Dr Michael Spence graduated from The University of Sydney with First Class Honours in English, Italian and Law in 1985. At Oxford University, Dr Spence obtained his PhD and continued to develop his career there over the next 20 years. He became a Fellow of St Catherine and also obtained a Postgraduate Diploma in Theology from the University of Oxford. He became Vice-Chancellor of The University of Sydney in July 2008.

The Australian National University
Brian Schmidt
Professor Brian P. Schmidt was appointed Vice-Chancellor and President of The Australian National University (ANU) in January 2016. Professor Schmidt is the 12th Vice-Chancellor of The Australian National University (ANU). Winner of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics, Professor Schmidt was an astrophysicist at the ANU Mount Stromlo Observatory and Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics before becoming Vice-Chancellor.


Monash University
President and Vice-Chancellor

Professor Margaret Gardner became President and Vice-Chancellor of Monash University on September 1, 2014. Prior to joining Monash, Professor Gardner was Vice-Chancellor and President of RMIT from April 2005 until August 2014. Professor Gardner is Chair of Universities Australia and a Director of the Group of Eight Universities. She was recently made a member of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Inclusion and Diversity Committee and in 2007, Professor Gardner was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in recognition of service to tertiary education.

The University of Melbourne
Professor Duncan Maskell

Vice-Chancellor of the University of Melbourne since October 2018, Professor Duncan Maskell was previously Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor at the University of Cambridge. He is a Cambridge graduate and research specialist in infectious diseases, and an active entrepreneur. His career includes the University of Oxford, Imperial College London, and Wellcome Biotech.  

The University of Adelaide
Professor Peter Rathjen
Professor Peter Rathjen commenced as the University of Adelaide’s 22nd Vice-Chancellor and President on 8 January 2018.   He is an Australian scientist and medical researcher internationally recognised in stem cell science. Prior to his appointment, Professor Rathjen was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Tasmania, where he was instrumental in creating vibrant new university precincts within the CBDs of Hobart, Launceston and Burnie. Professor Rathjen is an alumnus of the University of Adelaide.